Primary Election Results

The Hastings City Council will be meeting on Thursday, August 14th to canvass the election results. Canvassing is where the Council gets together to do an official count of the votes, then vote on that number to apporve it, and that’s when the count becomes offical.

Here are the election results from the Primary Election on Tuesday, August 12th:

Dakota County Commissioner District 1

Candidate                                Total Votes                        Percentage

Mike Slavik                                                     1940                                                   60.45%
Mark Henry                                                       640                                                    19.94%
Terry Donnelly                                                  629                                                    19.60%

That means that Mike Slavik and Mark Henry will continue forward, and be put on the General Election ballot on Tuesday, November 4th.

Hastings City Council At Large Seats

Candidate                                Total Votes                        Percentage

Mark Vaughan                                                 756                                                      33.63%
Lori Braucks                                                     551                                                      24.51%
Joanna Bayers                                                 349                                                      15.52%
Tom Wright                                                       287                                                      12.77%
Ian Martin                                                          212                                                        9.43%
Blaine Hornbuckle                                              93                                                        4.14%

The top 4 candidates will move on to the General Election on November 4th. Since Tom Wright has decided to drop out of the race, the candidates moving forward will be: Mark Vaughan, Lori Braucks, Joanna Bayers, and Ian Martin.

Permanent link to this article: