August 12th Primary Elections

On August 12th, voting for the primary election will be held from 7am-8pm.

For Hastings area voters, the election is for the two at-large City Council positions and the County Commissioner District 1 position. The candiates for the City Council At-Large seats are: Joanna Bayers, Lori Braucks, Ian Martin, and Mark Vaughan. While Blaine Hornbuckle and Tom Wright are still on the printed ballot, they have both dropped out of the race. The candidates for District One Dakota County Commissioner are: Terry Donnelly, Mark Henry, and Incumbent Mike Slavik.

There are eight polling places located throughout Hastings:

Ward 1, Precinct 1 is a mail-in ballot.
Ward 1, Precinct 2 polls at City Hall,
Ward 1, Precinct 3 polls at Hope Lutheran Church,
Ward 2, Precinct 1 polls at St. John’s Lutheran Church,
Ward 2, Precinct 2 polls at Our Savior’s Lutheran Church,
Ward 3, Precinct 1 polls at Calvary Christian Church, which is a new polling location,
Ward 3, Precinct 2 polls at Hastings United Methodist Church,
Ward 4, Precinct 1 polls at St. Phillip’s Lutheran Church,
Ward 4, Precinct 2 polls at Knights of Columbus Hall.

For Prescott Voters, polling will take place at City Hall. The main race at the county level is for sheriff, which is Nancy Hove vs. Bill Parks. The Senate race is between Republicans Bill Ingram and Mel Pittman to run against Democratic incumbent Kathleen Vinehout. The race for governor is between Democrats Mary Burke and Brett Husley to take on Republican incumbent Scott Walker.


Permanent link to this article: